University of Chicago Medicine and Biological Sciences

The Environmental Health and Safety Office is committed to providing a safe and healthy work environment. Our team of professionals have expertise in industrial hygiene, life safety, radiation safety and employee training. We develop and implement the University of Chicago Medicine safety and health programs to provide employees with relevant and clear work rules, and to comply with applicable regulations.If you encounter or observe an unsafe condition or hazard, please click on the link below to report this. In addition you can also review a full comprehensive outline of all UCM  Safety Policies.

Reporting Unsafe Conditions / Hazards >>

Review Safety Policies »

Our areas of expertise include:

  • Asbestos
  • Confined spaces
  • Cranes and hoists
  • Electrical
  • Employee exposures
  • Ergonomics
  • Fall prevention
  • Fire safety
  • Hazardous communication
  • Hot work
  • Indoor air quality
  • Lock out / tag out
  • Personal protective equipment
  • Powered industrial trucks
  • Regulatory compliance
  • Reporting unsafe conditions
  • Special events
  • Training

Contact Us

Phone Pager Email

Chris Riddle Director of Environmental Health & Safety

773-702-0244
2839
christopher.riddle@uchospitals.edu

Jennifer Palombizio Manager

773-702-3363
6874
jennifer.palombizio@uchospitals.edu

Joah Ackermann Industrial Hygienist I

773-834-1115
5581
joah.ackermann@uchospitals.edu

Roberto Torres Fire Extinguisher Tech

5260
roberto.torres@uchospitals.edu

Aurelio Hernandez Fire Extinguisher Tech

5905
aurelio.hernandez@uchospitals.edu

Dinah Branch Administrative Assistant

773-795-1902
dinah.branch@uchospitals.edu

Mark Johnson Life Safety Specialist

773-795-5049
1905
mark.johnson@uchospitals.edu

Stephen Rybak Industrial Hygienist II

773-702-3376
6107
stephen.rybak@uchospitals.edu

Request a Service

Our Operations teams ensure the safety, sustainability and efficiency of all our hospitals and facilities that we manage. Click on the links below to request a service or to learn more about Facilities Planning, Design and Construction.